American Melodic Death Metal Unit HINAYANA Announces New Album, “Shatter And Fall”

In 2018, Austin, Texas based melodic death metal unit HINAYANA ensnared the masses with their self-released debut, Order Divine, and later defied the pandemic with their subsequent 2020 release, the Death Of The Cosmic EP. Now, the band returns with their long-anticipated sophomore full-length, Shatter And Fall, out November 10, 2023 via Napalm Records – and it proves well worth the wait.

Produced by frontman Casey Hurd and Kevin Butler with mastering by Dan Swanö at Unisound, Shatter And Fall features guest contributions from melodic death metal purveyors and labelmates Tuomas Saukkonen of WOLFHEART and Vincent Jackson Jones of AETHER REALM. Setting them apart from genre greats like Insomnium, Amorphis and Swallow the Sun, Shatter And Fall incorporates modern, accessible elements, emerging as a fresh entry in this year’s most unmissable metal offerings. The album serves as a darker, more solemn work in comparison to their debut, yet superior without question in songwriting, technicality and cohesiveness.

Today, the band kicks things off with groove-laden first single “Reverse The Code”. Backed by an impressive official music video, the track boasts catchy chorus progressions, engaging verses and technical aptitude, blending progressive touches with punishing extremity.

Frontman Casey Hurd says about the track:
“Regrets and mistakes. ‘Reverse The Code’ is about our hopeless and futile desire to be able to go back in time and change things in our past. The single serves as a perfect introduction to the fierce evolution of our sound that is Shatter And Fall.” 

Watch the music video for “Reverse The Code” here:

Shatter And Fall not only proves itself as an impressive sophomore entry for HINAYANA, but a benchmark in the annals of American melodic death metal history.

Frontman Casey Hurd adds about the album:
Shatter And Fall is about Karma, one’s own fate, consequences, grief about our own actions, depression, loss of faith, yin and yang, light and dark, and our own unchanging nature as humans. It’s darker, heavier, and more diverse than our previous releases. We’re evolving and expanding on our sound to include more catchy and anthemic elements in addition to the darker, heavier material. This new album is a significant milestone for HINAYANA.” 

Pre-Order Shatter And Fall HERE

Shatter And Fall track listing:
1. Slowly Light Collides
2. Mind Is A Shadow (feat. Vincent Jackson Jones)
3. How Many Dreams
4. Spirit And Matter
5. From Our Darkest Moments
6. Reverse The Code
7. Lost To Flame
8. The Answer
9. Triptych Visions
10. A Tide Unturning (feat. Tuomas Saukkonen)
11. Taken