Dr. Coloussus – I’m A Stupid Moron With An Ugly Face And A Big Butt And My Butt Smells And I Like To Kiss My Own Butt (Album Review)

When you take your music seriously, have a penchant for Doom metal and are light-hearted at nature then you have the guys from Dr. Coloussus. Their third outing in the record world has the tongue in cheek (or cheeks) name of “I’m A Stupid Moron With an Ugly Face and a Big Butt and My Butt Smells and I Like to Kiss My Own Butt”. They seriously take things not seriously.

The band is made up of Jono Colliver (Dr. Jon) – vocals/guitar, Joel Colliver (Dr. Leg) – lead guitar, Mike Findlay (Dr. Love) – bass/vocals, and Josh Eales (Dr. Skin) – drums.

If this is your first time listening to the band you will perhaps notice from the album cover that these guys have a tendency to blend the nerdy, the deep and bleak along with the Simpsons. Bart Simpson is well known for making pranks calls to Moe’s tavern. From one of these pranks in Season 3 Episode 7 comes the title. Otto Mann and what appears to be Barney grace the cover with a donkey. The characters certainly provide a certain brightness in the bleak landscape with their yellow hue. With the donkey in tow, they may be referring to the account of Simpson and his donkey from Gallipoli thus showing the depth of character while keeping the smiles alight in a barren landscape.

The album was dropped on May 26th with relief from fans and band members. They recorded it themselves at Fountainhead Rehearsals, Geelong which offers AirCon, free tea and coffee, fridge, ambience, and modern comforts. Just in case you needed to know that. Without a label or manager Joel Colliver sat at the desk with the buttons and presumably pressed enough of them to make the band not want to yell “¡Ay, caramba!”

Dr. Colossus derive their material from episodes of the Simpsons. After 32 seasons of the show, this gives them endless amounts of material. As an example, the song “Pickabar” refers to an episode in which Homer forgot to pick Bart up from soccer practice (S4 Ep 14). This theme runs right through and if you are a Simpson-holic then you will undoubtedly derive much pleasure from the album. I just imagine band night with these guys gathered around the TV with some pizza and a few beers watching Simpsons episodes in order to find something they can work on.

Make no mistake that despite the fact that despite the amount of time spent on sourcing new material they have the backing of decent music ability. Dropped tuned guitars give the depth they are after to provide the crunching doom metal sound composed with skill. When on stage they deliver their art dressed in the flowing robes of Stonecutters, a Simpsons parody of the Freemasons.

The band works well together with all the pieces fitting together showcasing all the instruments. There is a great mix of styles throughout the album throwing in deep booming rock with catchy riffs and interesting arrangements. This has given them notoriety that has led them to tour with the Ned Flanders themed band from the States, Okilly-Dokilly. Two Springfieldian inspired bands launching their Simpson inspired material on the world would make for a night to light the masses.

A band like this is vying for a niche market with a catchy persona and gripping tunes. This link to the show will certainly excite fans but when someone like myself has to research all the references to a song it may lose some of the appeals when the lyrics seem out of place unless you know the back story. Having said that this is a band you’ll want to go see so as to take in all that they offer as they have taken much to put it out there.

  1. Sex cauldron
  2. Pickabar
  3. Lard Lad
  4. So Long Stinktown
  5. Get Mendoza
  6. Hummingbird of Bengal
  7. Space Coyote

Dr. Colossus: Facebook

Release Year: 2021
Category: Album
Country: Australia

Reviewed by Byron Lotz