INTERVIEW: TARJA TURUNEN on new album Dark Christmas, touring with Marko, Outlanders & More!

Interview by Drew Fulton


Drew sits down with the Legendary Tarja Turunen! The former Nightwish singer turned powerhouse solo artist talks about her new “Dark Christmas” Album, the creative forces in her life and touring with Marko again!

Dark Christmas is the highly anticipated second volume of Tarja’s 2017 album “From Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a Dark Christmas)” – a surprise hit and on-going strong seller. This time, Tarja has added a haunting twist to classic Christmas hits and carols with the addition of a children’s choir. For those who want to embrace the holiday spirit while exploring a more mysterious side of the season, Dark Christmas is the perfect album.

With enchanting and captivating renditions of well-known Christmas carols, such as Wham’s “Last Christmas”, Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas Is You”, Paul McCartney’s “Wonderful Christmastime”, classics such as “Jingle Bells”, “Frosty The Snowman” and “Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer”, as well as Tarja’s brand new original song “Dark Christmas”, the likewise named album will be available digitally, on Digipack, LP and as a limited black-splatter LP.

The album will be released everywhere on November 10.

Check out the full interview:

Watch on YouTube:

Order here:


Tarja - Dark Christmas


  1. The First Noel
  2. Frosty The Snowman
  3. O Holy Night
  4. Dark Christmas
  5. Jingle Bell Rock
  6. White Christmas
  7. All I Want For Christmas Is You
  8. Wonderful Christmastime
  9. Last Christmas
  10. Jingle Bells
  11. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
  12. Angels We Have Heard On High

“Dark Christmas” will be released on 1CD Digipak, 2LP (Gatefold, 180g, black), Ltd. Christmas Green Splatter 2LP (Gatefold, 180g), and on Digital.