Members of Flotsam and Jetsam and Steve Vai join guitarist Brent Barker on first single “Electric Necromancer”

Brent Barker

In June 2022, critically acclaimed guitarist Brent Barker is releasing a series of Progressive Metal Instrumental singles featuring Ken Mary (Flotsam and Jetsam, Alice Cooper, Impelliterri, Accept) on Drums and Pete Griffin (Steve Vai, Zakk Wylde, Yngwie Malmsteen, Paul Gilbert) on Bass. Mixed by Grammy winning engineer David Thoener (AC/DC, Aerosmith, Santana) the first single “Electric Necromancer” is available on all digital platforms today, June 6.

Brent Barker says “This is exactly the type of song that first drew me into playing guitar. Loud, Heavy, and on an unapologetic path to F*$K SH&*^ UP”.

Described as Power Doom Metal, Book of Numbers features Kevin Schuhmacher on Vocals, Brent Barker on Guitar, Dwain Miller (Keel, Rox Diamond) on Drums, and Dennis Hayes (Iced Earth, Tim “Ripper” Owens) on Bass.

Their debut album, Magick, was mixed by legendary engineer David Thoener (AC/DC, Rainbow, Aerosmith). Upon reviewing final mixes, David commented, “the quality of this band reminds me very much of my work on the album Rainbow Rising which of course featured the legendary Ritchie Blackmore and Ronnie James Dio”.

Brent Barkers guitar work on Book of Numbers’ Magick album has garnered praise throughout Europe including the largest print publication Rock Hard who proclaimed the album contains “Exquisite Guitar Solos”. Powerplay magazine describes the albums “fabulous guitar work”.

In 2018, Brent released a critically acclaimed instrumental album which also featured Chris Frazier (Steve Vai, Whitesnake, Foreigner) and Brad Lang (Y&T). The album was the only independent release to become the top ten most added to Heavy Metal format radio during it’s release period in the fall of 2018.