Thorium – Danmark (Album Review)

Release Date: April 29th 2022 - Emanzipation Records

Thorium - Danmark

Danish death metal-ers Thorium is back at it again with their upcoming release titled Danmark. The album is a dedication to the strong, beautiful country that the band calls home. Thorium has been around the traps for quite some time now having formed in 1997, and you can expect more of the old-school death metal for which they’re renowned. The album is deep and dark and sludgy. It’s a beast with a thousand eyes dragging its scarred carapace out of the mud ready to devour one and all. Those who long for authentic Death Metal will absolutely love this album. Danmark is due for release on April 29, 2022, on Emanzipation Records.

The first track on the album is War Is Coming which also happens to be the band’s first single from the album. You can give the song a listen here. The song is sludgy goodness setting the theme for the remainder of the album. The guttural scream at the outro works for me and I love that the same sound occurs again midway through Nine Lives. I’m sure that was intentional.

A Crown to Obscurity is my favorite track on the album. It’s sludgy but with an energy that makes it 100% headbang material. I know that sounds contradictory since sludge is generally associated with a slower pace but somehow Thorium has pulled it off.

The hilariously titled Semen Of The Devil has an incredible beat and the bass that kicks in at about 2 minutes 40 is a stand-out moment for the album. The Silent Suffering is the only instrumental on the album and is a nice touch – an interlude of sorts. Throughout the album, there’s this incredible drumbeat that’s almost primal in nature. It sounds like it wouldn’t be out of place in an Amazonian jungle signaling war between tribes. Oh, and did I mention Michael H. Andersen’s vocals? They’re flawless.

This is death metal at its most genuine – even right down to the method that the band used to record the album wherein the album was recorded live as a band rather than individually and then brought together by engineers. You can tell and it sounds great! For a band that’s been kicking around the scene for such a long time, they haven’t lost an ounce of talent or integrity. I thoroughly enjoyed this album from the first to the last listen. Go check it out!


  1. War Is Coming
  2. A Crown To Obscurity
  3. Majesty
  4. Semen Of The Devil
  5. My Decay
  6. The Silent Suffering
  7. Defiance
  8. Reign The Abyss
  9. Nine Lives
  10. Into The Gods

Thorium: Facebook

Release Year: 2022
Label: Emanzipation Productions
Category: Album
Country: Denmark

Reviewed by Phil Bergersen