Voyager – A Voyage Through Time (Album Review)

Release Date: August 26th 2022 - Season of Mist

Voyager - A Voyage Through Time

Recorded live at Magnet House in Perth, it is my pleasure to review A Voyage Through Time by none other than Voyager. This release is an absolute must for fans of Voyager, it’s got everything and it’s just so much fun to listen to.

A Voyage Through Time was released on 26th August 2022 on Season of the Mist. Voyager is Danny Estrin (Lead Vocals/Keys/Programming), Simone Dow (Guitars), Alex Canion (Bass/Backing Vocals), Scott Kay (Guitars), and Ashley Doodkorte (Drums).

It’s not often you pick up a live recording and enjoy it from start to finish from the very first listen. This release is so much fun, the sections with Danny talking are genuinely funny, and the band’s sound is so complete that there’s literally something for everyone.

This release personifies what it means to be progressive.

This is a clean polished release for a live album. It’s a great mix of the energy that you get from a live release combined with the finesse of a studio album. Hats off to the band and their sound engineers for pulling it off so well.

Power metal? Check. Folk metal? Yep. Black metal vocals? You better believe it! It’s eclectic, it’s a mess, but my god it works on so many levels. What a talented band to pull off this sound so explicitly.

Iron Dream is the stand-out track for me, which as they describe is inspired by Peter Steele (I’m a massive Type O Negative fan so this was always going to score points). Other stand-out moments are the middle eastern sounds in The Meaning of I, the distinctive power metal finish for Hyperventilating, and the total atmospheric influences of Sober.

A Voyage Through Time is a journey through the band’s back catalog, demonstrating the evolution and maturation of their sound. I’ve said it a couple of times and I’ll reiterate it again; this is such a fun release and is guaranteed to improve your mood. Take the time to listen from start to finish, it’s a long release, but worth the time investment.


  1. To the Morning Light
  2. The Eleventh Meridian
  3. Sober
  4. White Shadow
  5. The Devil in Me
  6. I am the Revolution
  7. Iron Dreaming
  8. The Meaning of I
  9. Hyperventilating
  10. Summer Always Comes Again
  11. Seasons of Age
  12. To the Riverside
  13. Ghost Mile
  14. The Fragile Serene
  15. Brightstar
  16. Runaway

Voyager: Facebook

Release Year: 2022
Label: Season of Mist
Category: Album
Country: Australia

Reviewed by Phil Bergersen