VICINITY Announces New Album “VIII” To Be Released In March Via Uprising Records

VICINITYOut of Trondheim, on the cold shores of Norway, VICINITY has been crafting their mix of progressive metal, melodies and sophisticated rhythm patterns since 2006. Now reaching their third studio album, the five-piece has reached the perfect mix in their sound. “VIII” is a mature progressive metal album, with a fresh approach to composition.

Putting new influences to work in their already highly rich melting pot of references, “VIII” is a collection of progressive metal songs where the Norwegians drifted to a heavier, more concise sound than in the previous releases. The final result can please traditional prog fans of bands such as Threshold, as well as followers of newer acts such as Haken.

“VIII” will be released on double LP (black vinyl), CD and digital format by UPRISING! Records on March 8th, 2024.

Vicinity was founded in 2006 by Kim-Marius H. Olsen, Frode Lillevold and Kristian Nergård. Vocalist Alexander K. Lykke soon joined the blend making the first complete lineup. With the EP “Diffusion of Innovation”, the band’s first official release, Vicinity found its true style, writing longer, more technical progressive compositions.

vicinity VIII

“VIII” Tracklist:

1. Promised Paradise
2. Distance
3. Purpose
4. Confusion Reactor
5. The Singularity
6. Shape Of Life
7. DKE
8. Face The Rain