RAVEN BLACK NIGHT – Run With The Raven (Album Review)

RAVEN BLACK NIGHT is an epic doom metal band with hard rock flair from Adelaide, Australia. Their latest album Run With The Raven was released in October 2020. I believe this is the follow-up to their previous album, 7 years earlier, which was released through Metal Blade Records.

This album features 12 raw traditional doom metal tracks with some early 70’s heavy metal elements that remind me of old BLACK SABBATH, or CANDLEMASS, or maybe MERCYFUL FATE. The album gives you the feel as though you are in a dark basement or secluded forest, surrounded by smoke and candles. The overall sound and guitars are fuzzy (maybe too much) and somewhat murky, accompanied by epic high-pitched style vocals for the majority of the songs.

All in all, it’s not a bad album. For me, the production let down the album a lot, although an old-school lower quality type sound is what they may have been going for. Definitely worth checking out if you’re a fan of early doom metal!


  1. Water Well
  2. Castle Walls (Tears Of Leonidas)
  3. Searching Your Love
  4. Angel Eyes
  5. Sheeba (Queen Of The Ravens)
  6. Visions
  7. Her Sword Of Tears
  8. Ancient Call
  9. Fire And Steel
  10. Ancient Rivers (A Queen’s Call)
  11. Holy Monastery
  12. Sheeba (Slight Return)


Release Year: 2020
Label: Soal
Category: Album
Country: Australia

Reviewed by Chris Long